Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good Morning lovelies!

I’ve just got back from the first run of the week! I’m very happy as I ran 10 km! That puts me in a good position to meet my weekly goal of 35 km! Me and exercise go hand in hand, I can’t remember any period in my life when I have gone very long without doing some sort of exercise. I generally manage to keep my motivation at a reasonable high level and I know a lot of people find this difficult so I’d like to share with you some of my tips to keep up my motivation:

1. Have something to look forward to

Even if I don’t have much to look forward to I pretend I do. Seriously! I’ll pretend that I NEED to dress up to go for that coffee date and that I NEED to look good when I’m dressed up! Who say’s your favorite party dress or heels can’t be pulled out during daytime? Maybe you’re going shopping? Maybe you’re going for a birthday dinner! Whatever it is: pick out your outfit and say to yourself: I NEED to look good in this! Personally looking good for me is ALL down to how i FEEL about myself. If I haven’t worked out for a week then I probably don’t look any different, but I don’t feel as good as I normally do. How do you feel & look good? By exercising! Simple as!

2. It’s for your health!

Let’s say that you now think: It’s all about appearance? No. Far from the truth. I must admit that when I found out that my mother’s father had bowl cancer, my mother’s sister had uterus cancer and finally my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer I got scared. But we can’t walk around being scared all day can we?! All we can do is simply our best for our health & happiness! And for me, exercise is the main thing that makes me feel good about myself! Also. What’s the point of living if you can’t feel alive? Using your body and challenging yourself are vital parts of improving your life quality, so why not invest in this?!

3. Start on Monday

I know a lot of people H.A.T.E Mondays. BUT it is the beginning of the work and workout week! What do you want to gain this week? Think about and write it down and do it! My tip is NOT to wait until  Tuesday or Wednesday because then it becomes a lot harder to fit in all the sessions and easier to make up excuses! For all you know this could be the best week of your life? You never know what’s going to happen . But you do hold the power to shape it the way you want!

4. Change your attitude

– Try not to think that exercising is a drag – think rather that this is something you are doing because your body needs it.
– Think about what working out does for your body and that it improves you general health.
– Try to exercise during your lunch hour or in the morning. Then it’s over and done with and you can enjoy your evening!
– Think about all the energy exercising gives you!
– Think how much you’ll benefit from exercising when you’re older or when you’re pregnant.
– If you have a family think about that you are the role model and try to be healthy not just for yourself, but also for the sake of the family!
– You can’t say that you don’t HAVE time. You simply need to TAKE it!

5. Reward yourself

Have you worked out hard one week and meet all of you goals? Well then, go to the cinema. Indulge in a bit of chocolate! Do what you like to do! It’s important to reward yourself when you’ve reached your goals!

6. Set yourself goals

What do you want to do? Lose weight and look good in a bikini? Run a marathon? Do a triathlon? My previous goals have been to stay fit for the half marathon in New York or to look good for my Italy holiday. Now that’s over I want to feel good about myself when I go to Tokyo as I’m meeting a lot of new people! There’s ALWAYS things to look forward to – set yourself goals according to what you want to achieve and stick to them!

7. Find a exercise form that works for you!

Personally I don’t like to go to classes as I don’t like to go to the gym according to anybody’s schedule than my own. But I do love the treadmill. Me and Mr Treadmill are very good friends and we have been for several years now. If you like swimming then swim. If you like running – then RUN! But whatever you do, make sure it is a sustainable exercise form for you!

8. Listen to varied music!

I often update my iPod with new music for exercising as I find that increases my motivation a lot! I think music is a great motivational factor in general – find the music you like to exercise to!

9. Get a workout buddy or personal trainer

If you’re struggling a lot with starting your own exercise regime then ask a friend with better motivation if you can gym together! Set yourself a goal of how often you want to work out together, maybe it’s once a week or twice? No matter how many times it is it’s getting you started which is the most important thing!

10. Keep track of your sessions

To meet your goals you can upkeep a diary of your weight, measurements, km or whatever that works for you! I just keep it in my head how many km I have done and how much I have left to do in order to meet my goals. But again, find a way that works for you so that you will meet your goals!

I hope you’ve found this motivational and inspirational. Now to those of you who are STILL sitting in front on the TV. COME ON! GO WORKOUT!

X